Home > Music > Richard Hickox, Collegium Musicum 90 Vivaldi Ottone in villa (1998)

Richard Hickox, Collegium Musicum 90 Vivaldi Ottone in villa (1998)

6-10-2019, 23:26. Author: mitsumi

Richard Hickox, Collegium Musicum 90   Vivaldi Ottone in villa (1998)

Richard Hickox, Collegium Musicum 90 - Vivaldi: Ottone in villa (1998)
EAC | FLAC | Image (Cue & Log) ~ 663 MB Total time: 75:54+68:47 | Digital booklet
Classical | Label: Chandos | # CHAN 0614(2) | Recorded: 1997

This, Vivaldi's very first opera, was premièred in Vicenza in 1713 and was an instant hit. The story is a relatively uncomplicated one by the standards of Baroque opera, of amatory pretences and misunderstandings: it has been admirably summarised by Eric Cross (who has edited the work) as a 'light-weight, amoral entertainment in which the flirtatious Cleonilla consistently has the upper hand, and gullible Emperor Ottone (a far from heroic figure) never discovers the truth about the way he has been deceived'. The score proceeds in a succession of secco recitatives (with just a very occasional accompagnato) and da capo arias - which the present cast ornament very stylishly.
There are no duets or ensembles except for a perfunctory final chorus in which the characters merely sing in unison; but there's an abundance of tuneful arias, and when Vivaldi can be bothered to write proper accompaniments to them - he often merely has violins doubling the voice, plus a bass line - he can provide interesting imitative counterpoint. Several arias employ only the upper strings without cello and bass except in ritornellos. The small Vicenza theatre couldn't afford star singers, so only limited opportunities were provided for vocal virtuosity; but the present cast makes the most of its opportunities, both in display and in meditative mood. It isn't always easy to tell the three sopranos apart, but Susan Gritton well suggests the scheming minx Cleonilla; Nancy Argenta with her bright voice has the castrato role that includes several fine arias, and displays a messa di voce in an echo aria; and Sophie Daneman, in a breeches role, produces a wide range of colour. Monica Groop slightly undercharacterises Ottone except when roused to dismiss Rome's anxiety at his dalliance. It's quite a relief to ear one male voice, and Mark Padmore is excellent. Richard Hickox keeps a firm rhythmic hand on everything and delivers quite the best and neatest Vivaldi operatic recording yet.
- Gramophone Classical Music Guide

Cleonilla - Susan Gritton
Ottone - Monica Groop
Caio Silio - Nancy Argenta
Decio - Mark Padmore
Tullia - Sophie Daneman
Collegium Musicum 90
Conductor - Richard Hickox

Track List:
01. Sinfonia: Allegro - Larghetto - [Allegro]
02. Scene 1. Cleonilla: Nacqui a gran sorte... - Cleonilla: 'Quanto m'alletta'
03. Scene 2. Cleonilla, Caio: Caio... - Caio - 'Sole degl'occhi miei' - Caio, Cleonilla: Ma Cesare qui vien...
04. Scene 3. Ottone, Cleonilla, Caio: Cleonilla, a te ne vengo... - Cleonilla - 'Caro bene'
05. Scene 4. Ottone, Caio: Piu fido amante, e chi mirт giammai?... - Ottone - 'Par tormento, ed e piacer'
06. Scene 5. Caio, Tullia: Quanto di donna amante... - Caio - 'Chi seguir vuol la costanza'
07. Scene 6. Tullia: Ah! Traditor t'intendo... - Tullia - 'Con l'amor di donna amante'
08. Scene 7. Ottone, Cleonilla, Decio: Quanto m'alletti, o cara... - Ottone - 'Frema pur, si lagni Roma'
09. Scene 8. Cleonilla, Decio, Tulia: Grande ho, Decio, il desio... - Decio - 'Il tuo pensiero e lusinghiero'
10. Scene 9. Cleonilla, Tullia: Porgimi il manto, caro... - Cleonilla - 'Che fe, che amor'
11. Scene 10. Caio, Tullia: E Caio aborrirт per fin ch'io viva?... - Tullia - 'Si, si, deggio partir'
12. Scene 11. Caio: E Caio aborrirт per fin ch'io viva?... - Caio - 'Gelosia'
13. Scene 1. Decio, Ottone: Spinto Signor son' io... - Ottone - 'Come l'onda'
14. Scene 2. Decio, Caio: A Cesare tradito io dir non volli... - Decio - 'Che giova il trono al Re'
15. Scene 3. Caio, Tullia: Parli Decio che vuol... - Caio, (Tullia - echo) - 'L'ombre, l'aure, e ancora il rio'
01. Scene 4. Tullia, Caio: Qual duolo, o Caio, frenetico ti rende?... - Caio - 'Su gl'occhi del tuo ben'
02. Scene 5. Tullia: Disperato e l'infido... - Tullia - 'Due tirani ho nel mio cor[e]'
03. Scene 6. Cleonilla, Caio: Felice e il volto mio... - Caio - 'Leggi almeno, tiranna infedele'
04. Scene 7. Cleonilla, Ottone: Che mai scrisse qui Caio?... - Cleonilla - 'Tu vedrai'
05. Scene 8. Decio, Ottone, Cleonilla: Cesare, io giа prevedo... - Cleonilla - 'Povera fedeltа'
06. Scene 9. Ottone, Decio: Ah Decio, i tuoi ricordi... - Decio - 'Ben talor favella il Cielo'
07. Scene 10. Ottone, Caio: Oh! qual error fec'io... - Ottone - 'Compatisco il tuo fiero tormento'
08. Scene 11. Caio: Quanto Cleonilla e scaltra... - Caio - 'Io sembro appunto'
09. Scene 12. Tullia: Ah, che non vuol sentirmi il traditore... - Tullia - 'Misero spirto mio'
10. Scene 1. Decio, Ottone: Signor... - Ottone - 'Tutto sprezzo, e trono, e impero'
11. Scene 2. Decio: Giа di Ottone preveggo... - Decio - 'L'esser amante'
12. Scene 3. Cleonilla, Caio: Cerchi in van ch'io t'ascolti... - Cleonilla - 'No, per te non ho piu amor, no'
13. Scene 4. Tullia, Caio, Cleonilla: Cleonilla... - Caio - 'Guarda in quest'occhi'
14. Scene 5. Cleonilla, Tullia: Quant'ha di vago Amor nel suo gran regno... - Tullia - 'Che bel contento'
15. Scene 6. Caio, CLeonilla, Tullia: Piu soffrir no poss'io...
16. Final Scene. Ottone, Decio, Cleonilla, Caio, Tullia: Caio infierito...
17. Final Scene. Chorus - 'Grande e il contento'
(Buy premium account for maximum speed and resuming ability)

Go Back